## Latest revised EU list of third country non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters

Issue N-5-2019, 14 March 2019

On 12 March 2019, the ECOFIN Council has adopted and published a revised EU list of third country 'non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters' (commonly referred to as the EU 'blacklist') and a revised EU list of third country 'co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments' (commonly referred to as the EU 'greylist').

For background please refer to our prior Tax Update Newsletters <u>N-17-2017</u>, <u>N-4-2018</u>, <u>N-11-2018</u>, <u>N-19-2018</u>.

As a result of the latest revision:

- Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Oman, United Arab Emirates and Vanuatu have been moved from the EU 'greylist' to the EU 'blacklist' due to non delivery on their respective commitments within the set deadlines.
- Bahrain, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Grenada, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR, Isle of Man, Jamaica, Jersey, Korea (South), Labuan Island, Macao SAR, Malaysia, New Caledonia, Panama, Qatar, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Taiwan, Tunisia, Turks and Caicos Islands and Uruguay have been removed from the EU 'greylist' due to the successful delivery of their commitments.
- Australia and Costa Rica have been included in the EU 'greylist'.

For your ease of reference, the latest revised lists are set out below:

The latest revised EU list of the 15 identified jurisdictions included in the EU common list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes ('blacklist') grouped per reason of listing: No commitment to address the EU's concerns American Samoa Samoa **Barbados US Virgin Islands** Guam Did not deliver on their commitment on time Aruba Marshall Islands Belize Oman Bermuda United Arab Emirates Dominica Vanuatu Fiji Major transparency concerns Trinidad and Tobago



## The latest revised EU list of the 34 identified co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments ('greylist'):

successful derivery of their communents (greynst):		
Albania	Costa Rica	North Macedonia
Anguilla	Curacao	Palau
Antigua and Barbuda	Eswatini	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Armenia	Jordan	Saint Lucia
Australia	Maldives	Serbia
Bahamas	Mauritius	Seychelles
Bosnia Herzegovina	Mongolia	Switzerland
Botswana	Montenegro	Thailand
British Virgin Islands	Morocco	Turkey
Capo Verde	Namibia	Vietnam
Cayman Islands	Nauru	-
Cook Islands	Niue	-

## Let's talk

For a deeper discussion of how this development might affect you or your business, please contact:

**Theo C Parperis** Partner Head of Tax & Legal <u>theo.parperis@pwc.com</u> Marios S Andreou Partner In charge of Tax Advisory marios.andreou@pwc.com Nicos P Chimarides Partner Tax Advisory & In charge of International Private Clients nicos.chimarides@pwc.com

Eftychios G Eftychiou Partner Head of Tax Technical Committee eftychios.eftychiou@pwc.com

Or your usual PwC contact

**PwC Cyprus** PwC Central 43 Demostheni Severi Avenue CY-1080 Nicosia, Cyprus P O Box 21612 CY-1591 Nicosia, Cyprus **www.pwc.com.cy**