ECOFIN Council second update to the EU list of third country non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters ('blaklist')

Issue N-4-2018, 15 March 2018

On 13 March 2018, the ECOFIN Council updated for the second time the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters, also referred to as the 'blacklist'. For background please refer to our <u>Tax Update Newsletter N-17-2017</u>.

The update is the result of replies received regarding political commitment to address the EU's concerns from three previously blacklisted jurisdictions as well as from the eight jurisdictions in the Caribbean region whose process was previously put on hold until early 2018 due to the devastating storms of September 2017.

As a result of the above:

- The Bahamas, Saint Kitts and Nevis and the US Virgin Islands have been included in the 'blacklist'.
- **Bahrain**, the **Marshall Islands** and **Saint Lucia** have been moved from the 'blacklist' to the 'list of co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments'.
- Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands and Dominica have been
 included in the 'list of co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their
 commitments'.
- The process is continuing for the **Turks and Caicos Islands**.

For your ease of reference, the updated lists as at 13 March 2018 are set out below:

The updated EU list of the 9 identified jurisdictions included in the EU common list of non-cooperadive juristictions for tax purposes, as at 13 March 2018:			
American Samoa	Namibia	Samoa	
Bahamas	Palau	Trinidad and Tobago	
Guam	Saint Kitts and Nevis	US Virgin Islands	



The updated EU list of the 62 identified co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments, as at 13 March 2018:		
Albania	Greenland	Niue
Anguilla	Grenada	Oman
Andorra	Guernsey	Panama
Antigua and Barbuda	Hong Kong SAR	Peru
Armenia	Isle of Man	Qatar
Aruba	Jamaica	Saint Lucia
Bahrain	Jersey	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Barbados	Jordan	San Marino
Belize	South Korea	Serbia
Bermuda	Labuan Island	Seychelles
Bosnia Herzegovina	Liechtenstein	Swaziland
Botswana	Macao SAR	Switzerland
British Virgin Islands	Malaysia	Taiwan
Capo Verde	Maldives	Thailand
Cayman Islands	Marshall Islands	Tunisia
Cook Islands	Mauritius	Turkey
Curacao	Mongolia	United Arab Emirates
Dominica	Montenegro	Uruguay
Faroe Islands	Morocco	Vanuatu
Fiji	Nauru	Vietnam
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	New Caledonia	-

Let's talk

For a deeper discussion of how this development might affect you or your business, please contact:

Theo C Parperis
Partner
Head of Tax & Legal
theo.parperis@cy.pwc.com

Marios S Andreou Partner In charge of Tax Advisory marios.andreou@cy.pwc.com Nicos P Chimarides
Partner
Tax Advisory & In charge of
International Private Clients
nicos.chimarides@cy.pwc.com

Eftychios G Eftychiou

Partner Head of Tax Technical Committee eftychiou@cy.pwc.com

Or your usual PwC contact

PwC Cyprus

PwC Central 43 Demostheni Severi Avenue CY-1080 Nicosia, Cyprus P O Box 21612 CY-1591 Nicosia, Cyprus www.pwc.com.cy

PwC Page 2