EU list of third country non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters ('blaklist') updated

Issue N-19-2018, 18 December 2018

The ECOFIN Council have made a number of updates to the EU list of third country 'non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters' (commonly referred to as the 'blacklist') and to the EU list of third country 'co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments' (commonly referred to as the 'greylist').

For background please refer to our prior Tax Update Newsletters N-17-2017, N-4-2018, N-11-2018.

As a result of the updates:

- **Liechtenstein** and **Peru** are no longer listed. These countries were removed from the 'greylist' with effect as from 5 October 2018, due to the successful delivery of their commitments.
- **Andorra** and **San Marino** are no longer listed. These countries were removed from the 'greylist' with effect as from 7 December 2018, due to the successful delivery of their commitments.
- **Palau** and **Namibia** moved from the 'blacklist' to the 'greylist' with effect from 5 October 2018 and 9 November 2018 respectively.

For your ease of reference, the latest updated lists are set out below:

The updated EU list of the 5 identified jurisdictions included in the EU common list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes ('blacklist'):			
American Samoa	Samoa	US Virgin Islands	
Guam	Trinidad and Tobago	-	



The updated EU list of the 63 identified co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments ('greylist'):		
Albania	Greenland	Niue
Anguilla	Grenada	Oman
Antigua and Barbuda	Guernsey	Palau
Armenia	Hong Kong SAR	Panama
Aruba	Isle of Man	Qatar
Bahamas	Jamaica	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Bahrain	Jersey	Saint Lucia
Barbados	Jordan	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Belize	Korea (South)	Serbia
Bermuda	Labuan Island	Seychelles
Bosnia Herzegovina	Macao SAR	Swaziland (Eswatini)
Botswana	Malaysia	Switzerland
British Virgin Islands	Maldives	Taiwan
Capo Verde	Marshall Islands	Thailand
Cayman Islands	Mauritius	Tunisia
Cook Islands	Mongolia	Turkey
Curacao	Montenegro	Turks and Caicos Islands
Dominica	Morocco	United Arab Emirates
Faroe Islands	Namibia	Uruguay
Fiji	Nauru	Vanuatu
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	New Caledonia	Vietnam

Let's talk

For a deeper discussion of how this development might affect you or your business, please contact:

Theo C ParperisMarios S AndreouNicos P ChimaridesPartnerPartnerPartnerHead of Tax & LegalIn charge of Tax AdvisoryTax Advisory & In charge of theo.parperis@pwc.comIn charge of Tax AdvisoryInternational Private Clients nicos.chimarides@pwc.com

Eftychios G Eftychiou

Partner
Head of Tax Technical
Committee
eftychios.eftychiou@pwc.com

Or your usual PwC contact

PwC Cyprus

PwC Central 43 Demostheni Severi Avenue CY-1080 Nicosia, Cyprus P O Box 21612 CY-1591 Nicosia, Cyprus www.pwc.com.cy

PwC Page 2

This content is for general information purposes only, and should not be used as a substitute for consultation with professional advisors.

© 2018 PricewaterhouseCoopers Ltd. All rights reserved. PwC refers to the Cyprus member firm, and may sometimes refer to the PwC network. Each member firm is a separate legal entity. Please see www.pwc.com/structure for further details.