ECOFIN Council third update to the EU list of third country non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters ('blaklist')

Issue N-11-2018, 31 May 2018

On 25 May 2018, the ECOFIN Council updated for the third time the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters, commonly referred to as the 'blacklist'. For background please refer to our Tax Update Newsletter <u>N-17-2017</u>. The updated 'blacklist' will be effective as from its date of publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

The update is the result of replies received from two previously blacklisted jurisdictions regarding their political commitment to address the EU's concerns, as well as from the Turks and Caicos Islands whose process was previously put on hold until early 2018 due to the devastating storms of September 2017.

As a result of the above:

- **Bahamas** and **Saint Kitts and Nevis** have been moved from the 'blacklist' to the 'list of co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments' (commonly referred to as the 'greylist').
- Turks and Caicos Islands have been included in the 'greylist'.

For your ease of reference, the updated lists as adopted by the ECOFIN Council on 25 May 2018 are set out below:

The updated EU list of the 7 identified jurisdictions included in the EU common list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, as adopted on 25 May 2018 by ECOFIN Council ('blacklist'):			
American Samoa	Palau	US Virgin Islands	
Guam	Samoa	-	
Namibia	Trinidad and Tobago	-	



PwC Tax Insights

The updated EU list of the 65 identified co-operative jurisdictions subject to the successful delivery of their commitments, as adopted on 25 May 2018 by ECOFIN Council ('greylist'):

Albania	Greenland	Oman
Anguilla	Grenada	Panama
Andorra	Guernsey	Peru
Antigua and Barbuda	Hong Kong SAR	Qatar
Armenia	Isle of Man	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Aruba	Jamaica	Saint Lucia
Bahamas	Jersey	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Bahrain	Jordan	San Marino
Barbados	South Korea	Serbia
Belize	Labuan Island	Seychelles
Bermuda	Liechtenstein	Swaziland
Bosnia Herzegovina	Macao SAR	Switzerland
Botswana	Malaysia	Taiwan
British Virgin Islands	Maldives	Thailand
Capo Verde	Marshall Islands	Tunisia
Cayman Islands	Mauritius	Turkey
Cook Islands	Mongolia	Turks and Caicos Islands
Curacao	Montenegro	United Arab Emirates
Dominica	Morocco	Uruguay
Faroe Islands	Nauru	Vanuatu
Fiji	New Caledonia	Vietnam
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	Niue	-

Let's talk

For a deeper discussion of how this development might affect you or your business, please contact:

Theo C Parperis Partner Head of Tax & Legal <u>theo.parperis@cy.pwc.com</u> Marios S Andreou Partner In charge of Tax Advisory marios.andreou@cy.pwc.com Nicos P Chimarides Partner Tax Advisory & In charge of International Private Clients <u>nicos.chimarides@cy.pwc.com</u>

Eftychios G Eftychiou Partner Head of Tax Technical Committee eftychios.eftychiou@cy.pwc.com

Or your usual PwC contact

PwC Cyprus PwC Central 43 Demostheni Severi Avenue CY-1080 Nicosia, Cyprus P O Box 21612 CY-1591 Nicosia, Cyprus **www.pwc.com.cy**

PwC

This content is for general information purposes only, and should not be used as a substitute for consultation with professional advisors. © 2018 PricewaterhouseCoopers Ltd. All rights reserved. PwC refers to the Cyprus member firm, and may sometimes refer to the PwC network. Each member firm is a separate legal entity. Please see www.pwc.com/structure for further details.